Transparency first: This guide contains affiliate links. If we’re enrolled in an affiliate program, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you — it never affects how we research or rank. Read our full affiliate disclosure policy.
We checked 25 beginner-tier sewing machines against their makers’ own published specifications — not against feel-words like “smooth” or “great for beginners.” The headline finding: only 10 of the 25 publish the number that most limits whether a full-size quilt will fit under the arm — usable throat depth — in the maker documents we consulted. For the other 15, including every Brother model we checked and three of six Singer models, those documents give no throat-depth figure. Below are 13 machines whose specifications we could verify and whose Amazon.com product pages resolved when we checked (September 2026), matched against four first projects: a first garment, a full-size quilt, denim/canvas, and knits.
Sewing machines are often recommended the way a friend recommends her own — “I have this one, it’s great.” That is useful, but it is not a buyer’s brief. This guide instead reconciles what each maker actually publishes — throat depth, feed system, presser-foot pressure, stitch speed, weight — against what your first project will actually demand of the machine. Where the maker documents we consulted give no figure, we say so plainly rather than borrow one from a retailer listing. Our full method is at How We Choose; in short, we verify manufacturer documents and state the gaps — we do not buy or sew on the machines ourselves.
The fit table
Throat depth and feed-dog count are often missing from the maker documents we consulted — and, with presser-foot pressure adjustability, they are the figures we weigh most when matching a machine to a first project. “Not disclosed” below means the manufacturer documents we consulted (September 2026) do not state a figure for that column (a weight printed without a unit counts as not disclosed); “Conflicting” means two of the maker’s own documents disagree. We never estimate one. Where a cell shows a metric figure in brackets, the inch or pound value is our own conversion of that maker figure. Brother’s spec tables give maximum sewing speed as a bare number; the “spm” (stitches per minute) unit shown for Brother models on this page is ours.
| Machine | Throat depth | Shank type | Needle positions | Max stitch speed | Weight | Feed-dog count | Presser pressure adj. | Band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brother XM2701 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 800 spm | Not disclosed | 6 points | No | under $150 |
| Brother GX37 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 850 spm | Not disclosed | 7 points | No | under $150 |
| Singer M3500 | 5.7 in | Snap-on | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | No (pre-set) | under $150 |
| Brother ST371HD | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 800 spm | Not disclosed | 6 points | No | $150–300 |
| Brother CS7000X | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 750 spm | Not disclosed | Not listed | No | $150–300 |
| Singer Heavy Duty 4423 | 6.25 in | Snap-on | 3 | 1,100 spm | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Yes | $150–300 |
| Singer Heavy Duty 4452 | 6.25 in | Snap-on | 3 | 1,100 spm | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Yes | $150–300 |
| Janome 2212 | Not disclosed | Snap-on | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5-piece | Not disclosed | $150–300 |
| Janome Sewist 725S | Not disclosed | Snap-on | Not disclosed | 820 spm | Not disclosed | 4-piece | Yes | $150–300 |
| bernette b33 | 6.7 in | Snap-on | 2 (straight stitch only) | 860 spm | 12.8 lb | Not disclosed | Conflicting | $150–300 |
| Janome HD3000 | Not disclosed | Snap-on | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5-piece | Yes | $300–600 |
| Juki HZL-LB5020 | ~6.7 in (170 mm) | Not disclosed | 15 (straight stitch) | 700 spm | 12.3 lb (5.6 kg) | 7 points | No | $300–600 |
| bernette b35 | 6.7 in | Snap-on | Not disclosed | 860 spm | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | No | $300–600 |
The picks
Ranked by first-project fit, not by price. Each entry states what it is good for, what it is not, and the specific published fact behind that call. Throughout, “published” and “unpublished” refer to the manufacturer documents we consulted in September 2026.
Brother XM2701 — Best for First Garments and Simple Hems
First GarmentsBest for: A first garment and simple hems.
under $150
Brother’s XM2701 carries 27 built-in stitches with 63 stitch functions, including blind hem, decorative and quilting stitches, plus a one-step buttonholer and an automatic needle threader. It is a mechanical, dial-selected machine with no computerized features to learn.
- Pros: Speed and feed-dog count both published by Brother; blind hem stitch included; simple dial controls; jam-resistant Quick-Set top drop-in bobbin.
- Cons: No published throat depth or motor rating; presser-foot pressure is not adjustable (Brother’s own spec table); no heavy-fabric claim.
Key specs: 27 stitches / 63 functions | 800 spm | one-step buttonholer | automatic needle threader
Choose this if: your first project is a garment, and you want a simple, dial-selected machine for straightforward sewing.
Not for: a first full-size quilt or denim/canvas project — neither a throat-depth figure nor a heavy-fabric claim appears in the Brother documents we consulted.
Why we picked it: it covers the first-garment basics — 27 stitches, a one-step buttonhole and a blind hem stitch — on a dial-selected machine, and Brother publishes its speed and feed-dog count.
Brother GX37 — Best for Simple Everyday Sewing
Everyday SewingBest for: Straightforward garment sewing and mending with few extra features to learn.
under $150
The GX37 is a 37-stitch mechanical machine with the stitch guide printed directly on the body, a Quick-Set bobbin, and a free arm for cuffs and sleeves.
- Pros: Stitches printed on the machine; simple to thread; free arm included.
- Cons: No published throat depth or heavy-fabric claim; presser-foot pressure is not adjustable (Brother’s own spec table).
Key specs: 37 stitches | 850 spm | one-step buttonholer | free arm | Quick-Set bobbin
Choose this if: you want a plain mechanical machine for everyday garment work.
Not for: quilting, denim, or knits — throat depth is unpublished, presser-foot pressure is not adjustable, and no heavy-fabric claim appears in the Brother documents we consulted.
Why we picked it: of the mechanical Brothers in the under $150 band in this guide, it has the widest stitch count — 37, against the XM2701’s 27.
Singer M3500 — Best for Most Stitch Applications Under $150
Most Stitch ApplicationsBest for: Varied garment work — sheer, stretch-knit and denim fabrics named by Singer’s own listing.
under $150
The M3500 delivers 110 stitch applications from 32 built-in stitches, with an automatic needle threader and a one-step buttonhole, plus 5.7 in of sewing space from needle to tower for larger projects.
- Pros: Widest published stitch-application count of the under $150 picks in this guide; automatic needle threader; free arm.
- Cons: No published stitch speed, weight or feed-dog count; presser-foot pressure is pre-set, not adjustable (Singer’s own FAQ).
Key specs: 32 stitches / 110 applications | automatic needle threader | one-step buttonhole | free arm
Choose this if: you want the most published stitch applications (110) among the under $150 picks in this guide for mixed garment fabrics.
Not for: a first queen-size quilt — Singer’s published 5.7 in of sewing space sits below the 6–7 in range we class as limited but workable for a queen quilt.
Why we picked it: its 110-application count is the highest of the under $150 picks in this guide, and Singer states it explicitly.
Brother ST371HD — Best for Denim and Heavy Fabric on a Budget
Heavy FabricBest for: Denim, canvas and other heavy fabrics — the Brother pick in this guide with an explicit heavy-fabric claim.
$150–300
Brother markets the ST371HD as “Strong and Tough,” with a metal needle plate, heavyweight needles included, and a drop-feed system for free-motion work; Brother’s own page says it “can handle layers of heavier fabrics.”
- Pros: Explicit heavy-fabric marketing; metal needle plate; heavyweight needles included; drop feed.
- Cons: No published throat depth; presser-foot pressure is not adjustable (Brother’s own spec table).
Key specs: 37 stitches | 800 spm | metal needle plate | drop feed
Choose this if: your first project is denim, canvas, or repeatedly heavy fabric and you want to stay in the $150–300 band.
Not for: a first full-size quilt — no throat-depth figure appears in the Brother documents we consulted.
Why we picked it: Brother’s own page says it can handle layers of heavier fabrics, and backs that with a metal needle plate and heavyweight needles in the box.
Brother CS7000X — Best for Widest Stitch Package and Table Space
Widest Stitch PackageBest for: Garment sewing and small quilting projects that benefit from a larger work surface.
$150–300
The CS7000X carries 70 built-in stitches and ships with a wide extension table, computerized stitch selection and an LCD display. Brother’s own spec table states presser-foot pressure is not adjustable on this model.
- Pros: Widest stitch package in this guide; wide table included; computerized selection.
- Cons: Presser-foot pressure not adjustable (Brother’s own spec table); no published throat depth.
Key specs: 70 stitches | 750 spm | wide extension table | LCD display
Choose this if: you want the largest stitch library here and a bigger surface to spread garment or small-quilt work across.
Not for: denim or canvas — presser-foot pressure is explicitly not adjustable, and no heavy-fabric claim appears in the Brother documents we consulted.
Why we picked it: 70 published stitches is the largest count of any pick on this page, and the wide table is a genuine, disclosed feature rather than a marketing phrase.
Singer Heavy Duty 4423 — Best for Disclosed Heavy-Fabric Power
Disclosed PowerBest for: Denim and canvas, from a maker that states both a throat-depth figure and a power claim.
$150–300
Singer publishes a 6.25 in throat depth for the 4423 — one of six picks in this guide with a throat-depth or workspace figure — plus a stated “50% more power for thick fabrics” claim and a 1,100 spm top speed.
- Pros: Published throat depth; adjustable presser-foot pressure; explicit heavy-fabric power claim; fast top speed; metal frame.
- Cons: No published feed-dog count; Singer states the power advantage two ways on the same page (“50% more power” and a motor “60% stronger” than standard), so read it as a comparative claim, not a measured figure.
Key specs: 23 stitches / 97 applications | 6.25 in throat depth | 1,100 spm | metal frame
Choose this if: you want a disclosed throat-depth figure alongside a heavy-fabric power claim, in the same machine, in the $150–300 band.
Not for: a queen quilt if you want room to spare — its 6.25 in sits in what we class as the limited-but-workable range (about 6–7 in), well short of dedicated quilting machines whose throats extend beyond 8–9 in.
Why we picked it: Singer publishes a throat depth, adjustable presser-foot pressure, stretch stitches and an explicit heavy-fabric power claim for it — a combination only the Heavy Duty 4452 shares among this guide’s picks without a conflicting maker document.
Singer Heavy Duty 4452 — Best for Any First Project, Walking Foot Included
Any First ProjectBest for: Any of the four first projects in this guide — it and the Heavy Duty 4423 are the two picks whose makers publish a throat depth, adjustable presser-foot pressure, stretch stitches and a heavy-fabric claim, with no conflicting maker document.
$150–300
Singer’s own product page states a 6.25 in throat depth, adjustable presser-foot pressure, 7 stretch stitches among its 32-stitch package, and explicit marketing for denim, leather and canvas — a walking foot and non-stick foot ship in the box for exactly that work.
- Pros: Throat depth, presser-pressure adjustability, stretch stitches and heavy-fabric claim all published; walking foot included.
- Cons: No feed-dog count in the Singer documents we consulted; Singer’s page prints a machine-weight figure without a unit, so we do not list one.
Key specs: 32 stitches (6 basic / 7 stretch / 18 decorative) | 6.25 in throat depth | adjustable presser pressure | 1,100 spm
Choose this if: you are not sure yet which first project you’ll start with — it shares a published answer on garment, quilt, denim and knit fit with the Heavy Duty 4423 (for a queen quilt, limited but workable), with 7 stretch stitches (the 4423 has 4) and a walking foot in the box.
Not for: a queen quilt if you want room to spare — like the 4423, its 6.25 in sits in what we class as the limited-but-workable range (about 6–7 in).
Why we picked it: Singer’s current product page (read September 2026) states a throat depth, adjustable presser-foot pressure, stretch stitches and a heavy-fabric claim (the Heavy Duty 4423 is the only other pick whose maker states all four with no conflicting maker document), and a walking foot and non-stick foot ship in the box for heavy-fabric work.
Janome 2212 — Best for a No-Frills Mechanical Machine
No-FrillsBest for: A simple, all-mechanical first machine with a disclosed feed system.
$150–300
Janome’s own info sheet for the 2212 publishes a 5-piece feed dog and snap-on presser feet — two figures many beginner machines in this guide leave unstated — alongside 12 stitches and a 4-step buttonhole.
- Pros: Published feed-dog count; snap-on feet confirmed; drop feed.
- Cons: No published throat depth, speed, weight, or heavy-fabric claim; smallest stitch count in this band.
Key specs: 12 stitches | 5-piece feed dog | snap-on presser feet | drop feed
Choose this if: you want a plain mechanical machine and value knowing the feed system rather than the stitch count.
Not for: quilting, denim or knits — throat depth, presser pressure and any heavy-fabric claim are all absent from the Janome documents we consulted.
Why we picked it: Janome discloses its feed-dog count, where four other picks in the $150–300 band have none in the documents we consulted.
Janome Sewist 725S — Best for Garments Plus Knits
Garments + KnitsBest for: A first machine that will also be asked to sew knit fabric.
$150–300
Janome’s own product page and feature sheet for the Sewist 725S list 25 stitches including stretch patterns, foot-pressure adjustment, an extra-high presser-foot lift, a 4-piece feed dog and an 820 spm top speed.
- Pros: Stretch patterns and presser-pressure adjustment both published by Janome; extra-high presser-foot lift; 25 stitches.
- Cons: No published throat depth.
Key specs: 25 stitches | 820 spm | 4-piece feed dog | adjustable foot pressure
Choose this if: garments and knits are both on your list of first projects.
Not for: a queen quilt — no throat-depth figure appears in the documents we consulted, even though the feed system is well specified.
Why we picked it: Janome publishes the two knit-relevant features this guide looks for — stretch patterns and adjustable foot pressure — on a mechanical machine with an extra-high presser-foot lift.
bernette b33 — Best for Largest Disclosed Workspace in the $150–300 Band
Largest Workspace, $150–300Best for: Garments and small-to-medium quilting, with a published workspace, needle-position count, speed and weight.
$150–300
bernette’s own spec sheet for the b33 states a 6.7 in workspace, 2 variable needle positions for straight stitch, an 860 spm top speed and a 12.8 lb weight — the largest published workspace of any pick in the under $150 or $150–300 bands.
- Pros: Throat depth, needle-position count, speed and weight all published; semi-automatic threader; bernette says even thick layers of denim fit under its 2-step presser-foot lift.
- Cons: No feed-dog count in the bernette documents we consulted; bernette’s documents disagree on presser-foot pressure — the product page says it can be adjusted, the 30-series brochure’s comparison table says it cannot.
Key specs: 15 stitches | 6.7 in workspace | 860 spm | 12.8 lb
Choose this if: you want the largest published workspace in the $150–300 band for garments and modest quilting.
Not for: a queen quilt if you want room to spare — its 6.7 in sits in what we class as the limited-but-workable range (about 6–7 in); and if tuning presser-foot pressure matters for your fabrics, bernette’s own documents disagree on whether you can.
Why we picked it: its 6.7 in workspace is the largest published figure of any pick in the under $150 or $150–300 bands, and bernette publishes needle positions, speed and weight alongside it.
Janome HD3000 — Best for Heavy Fabric on a Die-Cast Aluminum Body
Die-Cast BodyBest for: Denim, canvas and bulky seams — our fit call from its die-cast aluminum body, adjustable foot pressure and extra-high presser-foot lift.
$300–600
Janome’s info sheet for the HD3000 lists die-cast aluminum body construction, an extra-high presser-foot lift, foot-pressure adjustment, an 18-stitch package and a 5-piece feed dog.
- Pros: Die-cast aluminum body stated by Janome; foot-pressure adjustment and feed-dog count published; extra-high presser-foot lift.
- Cons: No published throat depth.
Key specs: 18 stitches | die-cast aluminum body | 5-piece feed dog | extra-high presser-foot lift
Choose this if: your first projects will be denim, canvas or similarly heavy material.
Not for: a queen quilt — no throat-depth figure appears in the Janome documents we consulted.
Why we picked it: its die-cast aluminum body and adjustable foot pressure are both on Janome’s own info sheet, not a generic “built to last” line.
Juki HZL-LB5020 — Best for Garments Plus Free-Motion Practice
Free-Motion PracticeBest for: Garment sewing with occasional free-motion quilting.
$300–600
JUKI’s own spec table gives the HZL-LB5020 an arm size of about 6.7 in (170 mm) — matching the bernette b35 for the largest disclosed workspace among this guide’s $300–600 picks — alongside a 7-point feed dog, a drop-feed system for free-motion work and 20 stitch patterns.
- Pros: Joint-largest disclosed workspace in its band; 7-point feed dog; drop feed for free-motion quilting; JUKI says it has the power to sew denim or leather.
- Cons: Presser-foot pressure is not adjustable (JUKI’s own spec table); no shank type in the JUKI documents we consulted.
Key specs: 20 stitch patterns | ~6.7 in workspace | 700 spm | 7-point feed dog | drop feed
Choose this if: workspace size and a drop feed for free-motion practice matter most to you in this price band.
Not for: knits or thick layered seams where you want to tune presser-foot pressure — JUKI’s spec table lists pressure adjustment as not available, although JUKI does claim the power to sew denim or leather.
Why we picked it: JUKI’s spec table fills six of this guide’s seven spec columns for it — more than any other $300–600 pick — and adds a drop feed for free-motion work.
bernette b35 — Best for a Straightforward Step Up in Stitch Count
Step UpBest for: Garment and craft sewing that wants more built-in stitches than the b33 without going computerized.
$300–600
The b35 steps up from the b33 to 23 stitches with an automatic one-step buttonhole and 7 included snap-on presser feet, while staying mechanical, without computerized controls.
- Pros: 6.7 in of space to the right of the needle and 860 spm, both published by bernette; automatic one-step buttonhole; 7 presser feet included; bernette says its 2-step presser-foot lift takes several layers of denim.
- Cons: Presser-foot pressure is not manually adjustable (bernette’s 30-series brochure); no weight, needle-position or feed-dog figure in the bernette documents we consulted.
Key specs: 23 stitches | 6.7 in workspace | 860 spm | automatic one-step buttonhole | 7 presser feet
Choose this if: you want bernette’s mechanical line with more stitches than the b33 and a one-step rather than a 4-step buttonhole.
Not for: knits or thick seams where you want to tune presser-foot pressure — bernette’s brochure lists it as not manually adjustable; for a queen quilt, its 6.7 in sits in what we class as limited but workable (about 6–7 in).
Why we picked it: it is the clearest published step up from the b33 — 23 stitches and a one-step buttonhole on the same published 6.7 in workspace and 860 spm — for readers who want more stitches without going computerized.
Named exclusions
We also checked these candidates. Our own verification found a specific reason each one does not appear as a pick above — never a generic “not recommended.”
- Singer Start 1304 — Amazon listing unavailable. When we checked (September 2026), the Amazon.com listing showed it as currently unavailable with no restock date and named a newer model, the Singer MX60.
- Singer Heavy Duty 4411 — no current product page found. When we checked (September 2026), Singer’s US product address for this model redirected to a general collection page rather than a dedicated product page.
- Singer M3220 — no current product page found. When we checked (September 2026), we could not locate a current Singer US product page for this model; the only document we found was a legacy instruction manual.
- Brother XR3774 — Amazon listing unconfirmed. When we checked (September 2026), Brother’s own product page was current, but the Amazon.com listing we checked did not resolve to a purchasable offer.
- Brother CS6000i — Amazon listing unconfirmed. A well-known Brother model, but our Amazon.com re-check returned a delivery-restriction message that contradicted an earlier read in the same research window, so we did not risk it as a live pick.
- Juki HZL-355ZW-A — above the stated ceiling. When we checked (September 2026), Juki’s own US site priced this model above this guide’s beginner ceiling.
- Juki HZL-353ZR-C — Amazon listing unconfirmed. When we checked (September 2026), we could not reliably establish an Amazon.com listing for this specific model.
- Baby Lock Zeal — no viable Amazon.com listing. When we checked (September 2026), Baby Lock marketed it as a current model sold through its authorized dealer network, and we found no reliable Amazon.com listing for this Amazon-only guide.
- Baby Lock Jubilant — no viable Amazon.com listing, for the same dealer-network reason as the Zeal.
- Husqvarna Viking Onyx 15 — no viable Amazon.com listing. When we checked (September 2026), it was current on Husqvarna Viking’s European sites, and we could not establish a US Amazon.com listing.
- EverSewn Charlotte — unreliable Amazon listing. The listing we checked showed no purchasable offer and a delivery restriction, so we could not confirm a purchasable offer.
- Elna Sew Fun / Sew Zebra — no current product page found and no viable Amazon.com listing. When we checked (September 2026), the parts of Elna USA’s site we could access carried no product page for this model.
- Necchi FA16 / Necchi HD22 — no current product page found. When we checked (September 2026), we could not locate a current US manufacturer product page for either model.
Recall check
We checked the US Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall database for every machine named on this page — picks and exclusions alike — in September 2026. We re-checked the full recall list on October 6, 2026. Result: no recall names any model checked. The sewing-machine recalls we found on record all predate this guide by well over a decade (an Elna model in 2011, three Husqvarna Viking recalls in 2006, 2002 and 1999, and a Bernina foot-pedal recall from 1978) and do not touch any machine named here.
What this guide doesn’t cover
This guide does not summarize owner-forum or community sentiment — a stated choice, not an oversight. We verify manufacturer documents and Amazon’s own live listing data, not sewing-community discussion. Some maker websites could not be read directly. Janome’s US product pages returned a bot-check page on October 1, 2026; we re-read its info sheets, feature sheet and instruction book for these three machines directly that day. bernette’s model pages, which failed on our first try in early September, were read on a later attempt (September 29, 2026). Where a maker document does not cover a field, the table says Not disclosed rather than guess.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does StitchProven test these machines?
No. We do not buy or sew on the machines we write about. Every product specification on this page traces to a manufacturer product page, manual, spec sheet, brochure or parts list, or to Amazon’s own live listing where we confirmed a link resolves; the counts and the 6–7 in quilt class are our own. Full method at How We Choose.
Why do so few machines publish throat depth?
We don’t know why any individual manufacturer chooses not to publish this figure. What we can say from this research is that of the 25 beginner machines we checked, only 10 give a number for it in the maker documents we consulted. If a full-size quilt is your first project, treat the absence of a published figure as meaningful information, not an oversight to ignore.
What if my first project is a full-size quilt?
Of the picks above, six publish a throat-depth or workspace figure you can act on: the Singer Heavy Duty 4423 and 4452 (6.25 in each), the Juki HZL-LB5020 (about 6.7 in), the bernette b33 and b35 (6.7 in each) and the Singer M3500 (5.7 in). The first five fall in what we class as limited but workable for a queen-size quilt (about 6–7 in) — our own classification, not a maker figure — rather than the wider throat you would get from a dedicated quilting machine. The M3500’s 5.7 in sits below that range.
Is a “Heavy Duty” machine automatically the right choice for a beginner?
Not automatically. Heavy-fabric capability and ease of use are different questions with different published answers. The Singer Heavy Duty 4423 and 4452 are the two machines in this guide whose makers publish a heavy-fabric claim alongside a throat depth and adjustable presser-foot pressure, with no conflicting maker document. Brother’s Strong and Tough ST371HD carries the fabric claim with no throat-depth figure in the documents we consulted; Janome’s info sheet for the HD3000 lists a die-cast aluminum body and adjustable foot pressure but no throat-depth figure or heavy-fabric claim; the Singer M3500, Juki HZL-LB5020 and bernette b35 pair a fabric claim with a workspace figure but presser pressure that is pre-set or not adjustable; and bernette’s own documents disagree on the b33’s presser pressure.
How is this page paid for?
Through affiliate links, which never affect what we recommend or how we rank a pick. The full policy is in our affiliate disclosure. More on who writes and verifies this guide is on our About page.